BLAINE, Minn. – (June 28, 2018) – Last weekend alone, almost 300 people were arrested for DWI in Minnesota. That brings the year to date total to 12,561.
On average, 25 percent of traffic deaths in Minnesota each year are related to impaired driving. With 4th of July weekend, many people will be enjoying celebrations, but the Minnesota State Patrol urges you to make a plan on how you’ll get home safely before you go out to any party.
One out of every seven drivers in Minnesota has a DWI on their record. A typical penalty for a first-time offender is loss of license for a minimum of 30 days up to a year and possible jail time.
Costs of a DWI can be as high as $20,000 factoring court costs, legal fees and increased insurance premiums.